Woodbury C of E Primary School

St Swithun’s Church

Church Status

Woodbury is a Voluntary Aided School which means that it was established, and is owned, by a Voluntary body - in this case the Church. As such the Church has a measure of control over various aspects of the life of the school.

The partnership between the Local Authority and the Church is reflected in the composition of the Governing Body, which must by law, be biased towards the Foundation Governors (those appointed through the Church). The Foundation Governors are appointed to ensure that the Christian character of the school is preserved and developed and the minister of St Swithun’s Church is a member of the Governing Body.

In addition to the strategic responsibilities of all school Governors, those of Aided schools also:

  • Are the employers of the staff in the school
  • Are responsible for the provision, maintenance and improvement of the school building. A 90% grant towards the cost of some capital projects is made by the Department for Children, Families and Schools, with the Governing Body is responsible for raising 10% of the costs
  • Decide the admission criteria in conjunction with the Local Authority and must make arrangements for appeals against any decision not to admit a child
  • Decide dates of terms and times of school sessions
  • Control occupation and use of the school premises when not required for school use

 St Swithun’s Church and the White Cross Mission Community

We have strong links with St. Swithun’s Church.  As a School we worship in the Church twice a term our local Vicar or one of the ministry team regularly visit school to lead acts of Collective Worship or talk with the children about aspects of faith.

St Swithin’s Church is located in the heart of the village and was consecrated in 1409.  It is a beautiful church with many interesting features including an intricate woodwork screen above which is a sculpture of an angel, which inspired the school logo.

In November 2009, the parishes of Woodbury and Exton joined with the neighbouring parishes of Aylesbeare, Farringdon, Clyst St George, Clyst St Mary and Woodbury Salterton to create the White Cross Mission Community.  For more information  visit White Cross Mission Community or Exeter Diocesan